The Vienna Energy Club brings together 10 Vienna-based
international organizations dealing with energy, providing an
informal platform for discussions and exchange of views.

While united in their efforts to put energy-related issues at the forefront of public discussion, and sharing a common host country, the members of the Vienna Energy Club do differ widely in terms of their size, their focus, and membership, as well as in geographic scope and their core missions. Thus, the Vienna Energy Club members bring a rich range of opinions and perspectives to key energy questions:



At the initiative of Mr. Slavtcho Neykov, Director of the Energy Community Secretariat (2006-2012), these organizations held their first joint meeting in September 2009, which resulted in the adoption of the designation “Vienna Energy Club” for the gathering, and in a decision to continue with a regular cycle of meetings. The Austrian Federal Ministry for European and International Affairs and the Federal Ministry for Science, Research and Economy represent the host country at the meetings.

The Club meets two times a year, based on a rotating host principle. As of July 2017, REEEP acts as the coordinator of the VEC.



Dr. Reinhold MitterlehnerDr. Reinhold Mitterlehner
Federal Ministry of Science, Research and Economy of the Republic of Austria

It is a great pleasure for me to acknowledge the work of the Vienna Energy Club. This club underlines the importance of the cluster of energy related organisations hosted by Austria, and is comprised of the Energy Community, IAEA, IIASA, OSCE, OFID, OPEC, REEEP and UNIDO. There is no other case, in Vienna or elsewhere, where such organisations have chosen to meet and exchange views on a regular basis, forming their own club.

Minister KurzSebastian Kurz
Federal Minister for Europe, Integration and Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Austria

The central nervous system of the world economy – that’s what energy has been referred to. Worldwide demand for energy will rise considerably within the coming decades. Access to energy and its most efficient use will continue to be indispensable for global development. Therefore, the way how we deal with energy issues today will decisively influence our common future tomorrow.